A Moment of Prayer

A Moment of Prayer

42 views
0

It only takes a moment.

Is the news just getting unbearable? Children are starving, families are homeless and violence rages across the globe. Fr. Gary Kyriacou, with St Demetrios Greek Orthodox Church in Camarillo, CA is tired too. On December 31, 2016, he calling for a Worldwide Moment of Prayer. He isn’t asking for a day or an hour but just a moment of prayer.

Spring boarding off the common dates of Christmas and Hanukah, Fr. Garry is hoping everyone who understands the meaning of prayer will unite for a moment through prayer in hopes that God will be merciful to us all.

Which moment?

On December 31, 2016, at 12:17PM Pacific Standard Time- stop and say a prayer!

That would be 1:17PM in Arizona, 2:17PM in Chicago, 3:17PM in New York, London would be 8:17PM , and 10:17PM in Athens, Greece. It would actually be the next morning in Japan and Australia. It would be January 1, 2017 at 5:17AM in Japan and 7:17AM in Sydney, Australia.

ONE MOMENT where everyone just stops to say a prayer! Jewish, Catholic, Greek Orthodox, Anglican, Baptist, Lutheran, Muslim, Methodist- doesn’t matter! EVERYONE JUST STOPS TO PRAY!

What should we pray?

You can simply pray, “Lord, Jesus Christ, have mercy on us.” You can pray the Lord’s Prayer. Fr. Gary is even more than willing to suggest a prayer. Basically, take a moment on December 31, 2016 at 12:17PM PST and give it to God in conversation and awareness.

Go LIVE!

He has one more request. Let’s also flood Facebook by going LIVE with a video of where you are at that moment and use hashtag #amen1217.

 

ABOUT THE ORTHODOX CHRISTIAN NETWORK

The Orthodox Christian Network (OCN) is an official agency of the Assembly of Canonical Bishops of the United States of America originally commissioned by SCOBA to create a national, sustainable, and effective media witness for Orthodox Christianity and seekers around the world through media ministry. CLICK HERE to download our brochure.

This 501(c)3 is recognized as a leader in the Orthodox Media field and has sustained consistent growth over twenty years. OCN shares the timeless faith of Orthodoxy with the contemporary world through modern media. We are on a mission to inspire Orthodox Christians Worldwide. We have reached 5.7 Million People in One Week. Much like public radio, the Orthodox Christian Network relies on the support of our listeners, readers, and fans. If you are interested in supporting our work, you can send your gift by direct mail, over the phone, or on our website. Your gift will ensure that OCN may continue to offer free, high-quality, Orthodox media.

Do you find it hard to keep focused on Christ when you’re on the go? OCN makes it easy! Give today to help you and your Orthodox community stay connected no matter the location.

donate now

ORTHODOX MOBILE APPS ARE HERE!

Click here to download the Spark OCN and Orthodox Prayer Book.

_______________________________________________________________________
Posted by the Orthodox Christian Network. OCN is on Social Media! Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Google+, Pinterest, LinkedIn and Instagram

About author
avatar

Orthodox Christian News

Orthodox Christian Network brings you news of events and people important to the life of the Orthodox Church around the world. OCN highlights media organizations that track these important stories.