Our Faith is as Sweet as Honey

Our Faith is as Sweet as Honey

My husband and daughter are beekeepers. They have many hives they tend and are responsible for. Recently, they hosted a gathering and invited people to come learn more about beekeeping.  As I watched the demonstration, I realized what tireless workers the bees are. They tend to the hive in many...

Read more
What Good is Prayer and Fasting?

What Good is Prayer and Fasting?

I hear it all the time. “I prayed really hard, and STILL God didn’t answer my prayer.” This sense of frustration is common especially during times of serious illness and death of our loved ones. The Gospel tells of just this sense of frustration in the father who had a...

Read more
When My Baba Died

When My Baba Died

When My Baba Died, by Marjorie Kunch, helps children understand the activities during funeral and burial services. Written according to the Serbian/Slavic Orthodox traditions, this book touches upon many details a grieving parent might struggle to explain.  There are several things I truly appreciate about this book. First, the author...

Read more
The Children’s Word: How to Be Fair

The Children’s Word: How to Be Fair

Welcome to The Children’s Word, a weekly ministry of the Orthodox Christian Network brought to you by Presvytera Alexandra Houck! This week, Presvytera Alexandra is talking about how we feel when things aren’t fair. Do you think God is fair? Read and find out how we know. You can also...

Read more
The Transfiguration of Our Lord on Mt. Tabor

The Transfiguration of Our Lord on Mt. Tabor

It’s so relaxing to take a family vacation during the summer. We slow down, turn off the alarms and allow the day to go on without us. Yes, this is what vacations are all about. You probably even lost track of the days of the week, puzzled if it was...

Read more
A Reflection on Faith as a Mustard Seed: August 9, 2015

A Reflection on Faith as a Mustard Seed: August 9, 2015

In this episode of Good News for a Change, Fr. Constantine Lazarakis reflects on Jesus’ discussion of the fact that faith even the size of a mustard seed will let us work marvelous miracles. (Matt 17:14-23). He begins by describing his wonder at the beauty of the trees and flowers...

Read more
The Two-Way Street

The Two-Way Street

“Forgive others not because they deserve forgiveness but because you deserve peace.” “Sometimes you forgive people simply because you still want them in your life.” “To be Christian means to forgive the inexcusable because God has forgiven the inexcusable in you.” “And in anger his master delivered him to the...

Read more
Orthodox Author Ben Anderson

Orthodox Author Ben Anderson

​In this episode of Moving Icon, Chris Vlahonasios interviews Ben Anderson, a convert to Orthodoxy. Ben Anderson is the author of an Orthodox-inspired fantasy trilogy about the McGunnegals, a strange family with even stranger secrets. In the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Tolkien, the McGunnegal Chronicles takes the reader on...

Read more
The Children’s Word: How Long Will I Be With You?

The Children’s Word: How Long Will I Be With You?

Welcome to The Children’s Word, a weekly ministry of the Orthodox Christian Network brought to you by Presvytera Alexandra Houck! This week, Presvytera Alexandra tells about a time when the disciples kept asking Jesus for help. Do you ask for help? Maybe more than once? Find out why you can...

Read more
Reaching Out to Every Tom, Dick, and Muhammad

Reaching Out to Every Tom, Dick, and Muhammad

Mission, like charity, begins at home. Christ calls us to share the saving Good News with all creation, starting with the creation next door and down the block. Sometimes, the neighbour’s name is Tom or Dick. Sometimes, it is Muhammad—or perhaps his sister Fatimah. St. Paul bids us become all...

Read more